Overview of ARCC Awards
All award applications are due October 1, except for the King Medal: specific deadlines are noted with each award description. Applications for the New Researcher, and Haecker awards should be sent to Dr. Michelle Rinehart. Applications for the King Medal program should be sent to Dr. Brian Sinclair.

ARCC New Researcher Award

The ARCC New Researcher Award each year is offered to member institutions of ARCC to acknowledge and reward emerging figures in architectural and environmental design research that demonstrate innovation in thinking, dedication in scholarship, contributions to the academy, and leadership within architectural and environmental design research.

ARCC Best Paper/Presentation Award

The ARCC Best Paper/Presentation Award is selected from the papers and presentations at an annual ARCC Architectural Research Conference (either solely under direction of ARCC or as a combined conference with another institution). The limited number of papers nominated from the conferences are peer-reviewed by the Board of Directors and special recognition is given to one or more of these papers as the best of the conference. In the years when the annual research conference is shared, representatives from both ARCC and the other institution will review the submissions and selected a finalist.

ARCC King Student Medal

The The ARCC King Student Medal for Excellence in Architectural + Environmental Design Research is named in honor of the late Jonathan King, co-founder and first president of the Architectural Research Centers Consortium (ARCC), this award is given to one student per ARCC member college, school, institute, or unit. Selection of recipients is at the discretion of the individual member institutions, but is based upon criteria that acknowledge innovation, integrity, and scholarship in architectural and/or environmental design research.

ARCC James Haecker Distinguished Leadership Award

The The ARCC James Haecker Award is awarded to individuals for distinguished leadership in architectural research. The award, named in honor of ARCC's founding Executive Secretary, recognizes an individual who has made outstanding contri-butions to the growth of the research culture of architecture and related fields, including urban and regional planning, landscape architecture, and interior design. Nominees, therefore, should have demonstrated, whether in professional practice, academics, or service, a record of sustained and significant research leadership accomplishment at the national or international level.

ARCC Mary Kihl Distinguished Service Award

The The ARCC Mary Kihl Award is named in honor of longstanding Architectural Research Centers Consortium (ARCC) member and past-Director Dr. Mary Kihl, this award is given to an ARCC member who has demonstrated exceptional service to the ARCC organization. Dr. Kihl has, through her many years of affiliation with ARCC, served the organization with tireless dedication, selfless contributions, uncompromising integrity, and a strong focus on excellence. Candidates for this prestigious award should demonstrate like qualities. The award will be conferred based on the merit of candidates, but not necessarily on an annual basis.

ARCC, Architectural Research Centers Consortium.  All rights reserved.   Privacy Policy

Sign up for
our Newsletter
Applications for 2014 awards are now accepted.